top of page

Communicating As A Professional

Based on my research, communication in my field is ordinary, which means I pretty much just need the basic "need-to-know" information on communicating in a workplace. But, communication in general is important any and everywhere almost. The way someone speaks can be the reason they fail or succeed at a job. Not only will I need certain communicaion skills in my profession as an Automotive tech, but just to grow and gain more knowledge of communicaion skills. In my profession I will need not only communication but grammar, reading and writing as well. I will need all of these things if I am to be looked at as a professional in my career field.

Good grammar is needed in the woriplace because, Forbes writes, good grammar and clear sentences suggest respect. Having good grammar also shows that someone has at least basic knowledge of the human vocabulary and are also more likely to succeed at the job and make fewer mistakes. Knowing how to speak will show the people whom I will have to speak with that not only do I have respect for myself, but for them as well (Adams). Inanother article, a man named Kyle Wiens,head of a few of his own companies, says he refuses to hire someone with poor grammar. Someone would be more likely to even recieve a job if they know how to speak properly with good grammar. And so, if I cannot speak properly in the workplace, it will show that I am not organized or intelligent enough to be qualified for a position (Wiens).

Based on the importance of grammar in the workplace to even recieve a job, not only would I need the proper grammar, but also requirements and responsibilities necessary to know how to do my job correctly. In my specific field as an Automotive Tech, based on the education requirements, as givenin the student handbook online, I only need to know the basics of reading, writing and grammar skills. In my field, previous experiance as a Technician is not required to obtain a job; however, it is recommended. Once i have obtained a job, I will recieve on-the-job training for anything I have not learned already. Such as, if we were working on a vehicle and I did not know the proper tools and equiptment needed for that specific job, they would teach and train me on the spot. I, however, personally chose to have additional field experiance before entering into my profession. With being an Automotive tech, sometimes there are specific tools, programs and equiptment needed for a certain job. There will be electronic equiptment used to diagnose problems in vehicles and I will need to know how to read and understand them. I willneed to know the basics of those programs to be able tocommunicate with the machine to get it to do what I want it to do. As for what Icould be reading or writing, I will be expected to fill out paperwork on any vehicle i work on, such as liability forms and sheets describing what I have done to the car or what I will do. Therefor, I will need to know hoe to write properly so that myboss and the customers will be able to understand. Also, I will need communication skills for when a customer or boss needs to speak with me, like if a customer had a concern about thier vehicle and they need to tell me exactly what they think is wrong and fill me in on what their car has been doing. I will need to speak professionally, with good grammar and proper eye contact to show the customer that I am fully paying attention and listening to what they have to say. (O.O.H.).

Based on the things I have learned about what I will need and what I will have to do in my field of work as an automotive tech, I now know what I can improve. My communication skills as they are now, I could say, are abouve average. But, there is always room for improvement. This class and just college in general as a whole could benifit me by showing me that how I speak affects my life by letting me know that it is someothing you need in an everyday environment. The better I speak the more it can help me in excelling in my carreer. It has also helped by having to email and talk to my professors. I don't want to sound like I don't know what I'm talking about, or that I've never learned how to type properly. It would show that I am unintelligent.

After everything I have learned from the articles and the handbook, I can see how important grammar and communication skills are in anyprofession I chose to take. I now know more about what I need to learn to become an Automotive Technician, and what will help me to learn those things. So, in life and in my profession, i willneed good ommuncation, reading, writing and grammar skills.

Work Cited

Adams, Susan. "WHy Grammar Counts At Work." Forbes. 20 July 2012. Web. 5 Feb. 2015. <http://www.forbes.com/sites/susanadams/2012/07/20/why-grammar-counts-at-work/>.

Wiens, Kyle. "I Won't Hire People Who Use Poor Grammar. Here's Why." Harvard Business Review. 20 July 2012. Web. 5 Feb. 2015. <https://hbr.org/2012/07/i-wont-hire-people-who-use-poo>.

Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor. "Automotive Service Technicians." Occupational Outlook Handbook. 8 Jan. 2014. Web. 29Jan. 2015. <http://www.bls.gov/ooh/installation-maintenance-and-repair/automotive-service-technicians-and-mechanics.htm>.


Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page